Fighting Your Own Mind

fightingyourmind

“To battle against your toxic thoughts, you must identify and reject them. As 2 Corinthians 10 tells us, the battle against out toxic thoughts is like none other. It is not a physical battle, but rather it is a spiritual battle that requires God’s help in fighting.” [unknown]

This summer I was introduced to the concept of spiritual warfare for the first time. The enemy doesn’t use ridiculous circumstances or unbelievable lies, but rather he twists the truths in our heart until we begin to listen to his lies. He feeds our hearts and minds with sugar coated lies. They might seem beautiful on the outside as they destroy us on the inside. It’s often said that the enemy fights the hardest when the Lord has something in store for us. He knows that darkness will never be able to overcome light. [John 1:5] No matter how much of our hearts the enemy manages to bring into our hearts, we are never to deep to be brought back to light. [Job 12:22]

My mind is my own worst enemy and THE enemy knows that. He fills my mind with toxic thoughts hoping they will consume me. Unfortunately a lot of the time they do, they do until I manage to numb them. J.K. Rowling has it right, “Numbing the pain for awhile will make it worse when you finally feel it.” “Thats the thing about pain, it demands to be felt.” [John Green] One of my closest friends is constantly reminding me to “keep fighting that pretty little mind of yours.” The Lord has given me a beautiful mind, one filled with the knowledge of His truth and unconditional love. Ecclesiastes 3:11 days that “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” If I read that right, it says EVERYTHING. To me [and my friend apparently], everything includes my mind. Every single thought, every little corner of my mind that seems to be overcome with darkness. We will never be able to fathom all God has done, all he has made beautiful.

That same friend told me that “If I can learn to fight my mind, I will move mountains.” In the midst of it all I am constantly reminding myself that the Lord desires to and will continue to for me, I simply have to let him. [exodus 14:14] As many of you know I spent two months of my summer serving at a YoungLife camp in central Oregon. During one of our most intense worship nights we were asked to declare what the Lord has taught us or reminded us. Naturally my mind started racing trying to come up with the perfect words attempting to prove who knows what. I was praying that I wouldn’t be the first to go and was so thankful when at least one person was asked to speak before me. She quickly said “pass”, to which I quickly asked if “that was a thing?” Low and behold I was first, I opened my mouth to speak and that’s when the Lord took over. [Heather. Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you. I will always fight for you because I love you, you just have to let me.] I was shocked. That wasn’t me speaking, it was the one who loves me more than I can ever fathom.

If I continue to allow the enemy take hold of my brain, to numb the lies and the pain, I will always miss out on the healing the comes from the truth. The truth will always bring light to my life and reveal the deepest of wounds. Wounds like these can only be treated if we are brave enough to rip off the old bandages bound tightly with drugs or alcohol, food or work, cigarettes or sex. As we rip of those all too comfortable bandaids, the Lord begins to work. “Come, let us return to the Lord. He has torn us to pieces but he will heal us; he has injured us but he will bind up our wounds.” [Hosea 6:1] Our wounds are messy and our bandaids slowly become a part of us. If we are simply able to identify and reject them, light can be brought into the deepest of wounds. The Lord knows the process hurts us greatly, but He is the only one who can bind up our hearts and minds.

Keep fighting those minds of yours. Don’t numb the lies, don’t numb the pain. Be brave enough to tear off those bandaids and return to the Lord. Be ready to fight with Him. Show off your mess and toxic thoughts until the truth shines into every dark corner.

Thanks for joining me on this journey, I hope you find what you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

