This is MY Fight Song

thisismyfightsong

“Music touches us emotionally where words can’t.” [Johnny Depp]

There are three questions I hate being asked.

1) How can I be praying for you?

2) What is your favorite food?

3) What kind of music do you like?

I get asked these questions all the freakin time. If I were to properly answer them all I would end up with a short novel filled and a few thousand contradictions. Something so simple has suddenly become incredibly complicated. Complicated beyond words. That’s where music comes in. Music has become a safe place for me, something to make sense of the complication. That’s why I don’t like a certain type of music, I just love music in general. I love the place it allows me to go to. I am clearly not going to explain my love for every one of the songs in my library, neither of us have time for that. The other day a dear friend of mine asked me to listen to a song, a song we all know and love. A song we’ve belted out at the top of our lungs with our best friends or alone in our car. No, I’m not talking about “Don’t Stop Believin…” My friend asked me to listen to “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten.

We all know the words “This is my fight song, take back my life song…” We know them in our head, but can we believe them in our heart? In my opinion yes, even if we have to have someone else constantly giving us the right words. It can be a family member, a friend, or a SONG. This is why I love music. It has the ability to fill our heads with truths that we have the opportunity to allow into our hearts. I’m going to go out on a limb and assume you haven’t turned this song on repeat while reading, so as I reference parts of the song I’ll throw them in a set of brackets [fun fact: parenthesis make me cringe…]

Within the first twenty words, we are literally told the power of a single word. [Like how a single word Can make a heart open] What? One. Word. That’s all it takes. Studies have shown that it only takes one word to gain the attention of an individual or crowd. The right word, that is. It only takes one word to open your heart. For me its fight, ironically enough one of the two words in the title of the song. This battle you and I fight is our lives. Every single day we make the conscious decision to keep fighting. To prove we are alright. [Take back my life song Prove I’m alright song] How freakin cool is that? A SONG that literally brings light to one of the most overlooked concepts. The concept that every moment of our lives is a conscious fight. A fight for the good, and a fight for the light.

[All those things I didn’t say] There are so many things I will never, ever say; for the most part these are things I don’t know how to say. I will tell you that I’m in deep [In too deep], but I can’t explain how. I don’t know the right words to say, the words to make you understand how I truly feel. I know that scares a lot of people in my life. My friends, my parents, my roommates all want to know what’s going on. [Everybody’s worried about me] But hey, [I don’t really care if nobody else believes ‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me] Yes, I have those [Wrecking balls inside my brain], and I am [losing friends and I’m chasing sleep]. Funny thing is, [it’s been two years] since I began my college journey.

I’ve gone through Hell and back in the last three weeks and it’s time to prove the world wrong. It SUCKS to start my days twenty feet under. Every single blow is just one more foot below. You start twenty feet above me, so the little things don’t hurt quite as much. That’s the difference between you and me, or at least I hope it is. So yes, [This is my fight song Take back my life song Prove I’m alright song]. So yes, ironically enough “Fight Song” has become MY fight song. It has touched me in ways words alone cannot. So, back those questions that I hate. I’m not going to ask you them because that would be messed up. I don’t want you to confuse yourself, I don’t want things to become any more complicated than they may already be. I want to challenge you. Find YOUR fight song. Scream it until you believe it. Don’t listen to what anyone else has to say about it. Do this for YOU.

 

I claim no legal rights to the lyrics mentioned above. All lines in brackets are direct quotations from the song “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten used solely as to draw connections and put words to my own life.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Keep fighting heath- love you tons and tons

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

